top of page

Day trip to Bergamo from Milan

Bergamo is located in northeast of Milan. (About 40km, 1 hour by car )

This city is famous for having 2 parts in the city.

"Citta Alta" (Upper city) and "Citta bassa"(Lower city).

After parking in the Citta bassa, I could already see the beautiful Citta Alta from the street.

Day trip to Bergamo

To go to the Citta alta, there are mainly 3 ways : By bus, by car or by cable car (funicular railway).

I knew it takes more time, but as a typical tourist, I decided to take a cable car to enjoy the nostalgia.

Funicolare Bergamo

Funicolare Bergamo

It was very beautiful. Breathtaking. (Even though it took only 5 min to go up...)

After going out from the station, the historical old town was waiting in front of me.

Day trip to Bergamo

Day trip to Bergamo

Day trip to Bergamo

Yes yes yes! This is what I wanted to see, the typical medieval italian town!

Even just a cafe has a good atmosphere.

Day trip to Bergamo

There's a lot of restaurants and tasteful shops along the narrow streets.

Of course there's some historical monuments as well in a main square.

Day trip to Bergamo

Day trip to Bergamo

And from the hill, there's a spectacular view of Bergamo city.

Day trip to Bergamo

Day trip to Bergamo

Against my negative expectation, I truly enjoyed this city. I was totally underestimating about this city.

It was such a nice sunny day so there was even a beautiful sunset on the way back.

Day trip to Bergamo

It's only an hour from Milan so I'd love to come back again maybe in summer.

Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page